MS Travel Tips

Recently, I took an impromptu trip to from Denver to Dallas to attend a funeral. It was the first time I have flown since the pandemic began, and I was feeling a little rusty. My MS related disability has also progressed a bit since the last time I traveled, so I was nervous it might make everything extra complicated. During this quick trip, I regained my airline confidence, and I thought I would share a few tips I picked up with you.

Rolling through Dallas Love Field Airport. This photo was the only time I took my mask off, and I held my breath the whole time!

Pack thoughtfully, and keep things you must have on you at all times. I prepared for a hot airplane, because temps were well over 100 degrees. Plan for the unreliability of air travel, because waiting for an hour on a hot tarmac is a real possibility these days. I packed a cooling scarf and peppermint oil for the flight. (If you haven’t tried it, a quick dab of peppermint oil on the back of your neck is great for a quick cooling sensation.) I also carry 2 days worth of medication with me, because in the event the airline loses my luggage, I don’t want it to be an emergency. If you can’t live without it for 24 hours, keep it in your carry-on. For me, this means I also keep device chargers, baby wipes, hand sanitizer, lip balm, and Starburst candies in my backpack, because…travel necessities! Consider using a cross-body bag or a backpack you can wear, because if you have balance issues and walking difficulty, it sure helps to have your hands free as you navigate on and off the plane.

Check the forecast, and prepare for the climate. Texas heat is out of control this time of year, so I packed light clothes and shoes, and brought hair ties so I could put it up if I got too steamy. Heat and humidity together make me feel like a melting candle, and all of my MS symptoms intensify. This trip, I spent most of my time indoors, and when I had to be out, my husband kept the car parked nearby under a canopy of shade, so I could escape to air-conditioning quickly. If I were staying in Texas any longer, I would definitely have packed a cooling towel, my large hat, and my arms ice packs as well. If you think it will be hot or cold where you’re headed, pack thoughtfully. A jacket or a cooling vest can take the edge off when weather-related misery sets in.

Protect your health. I was shocked by how few masks I saw in the airport and on the plane. Being immunocompromised as well as a germaphobe, I donned one the whole time, and if you are concerned for your health, you should too. Just because most of the world has chosen to move forward with normal, unmasked life, the threat of Covid-19 (and all sorts of other nasty things) is still real if you have a weakened immune system. The number one focus of my trip was to arrive back home healthy, so I would have worn a gas mask on my face if it were recommended by my doctor or if it made me feel protected!

Bring your mobility aids! One of the best parts about airline travel for those of us using using them, is that airlines make us a priority. In my experience, this has been true most of the time. Just let the airline know what you are bringing and if you will be using it up to the gate, or requesting wheelchair assistance. Many times, a motorized mobility aid needs an inspection tag given by the airline, so be sure to ask at the ticket counter when checking in. It is also simple to check a rollator, and have it delivered with your luggage when you arrive at your final destination. Be sure to bring the mobility aids you need to ensure you can enjoy your trip when you arrive. This trip, I rode my trike right up to the gate, asked for a tag so it could be loaded when I got off, and I was allowed to board first. I was grateful, because getting on to the plane is tough for me, but I’m too stubborn to accept boarding help yet. Before take-off, ask a flight attendant to check and ensure your mobility device was loaded onto the plane. When you arrive at your hotel, ask for a room close to the elevator.

I have used the rolling office chair available in many hotel rooms as a rollator. This one was too wobbly, so I used my bare feet to scoot myself around. Hey, whatever works…am I right?!

Get some sleep. If you’re chronically ill, skip the red-eye and plan for rest. Traveling is exhausting, and there’s nothing more miserable than overstimulation and fatigue. Once I feel tuckered out, moving my body around becomes really difficult. Plan your schedule around your own needs, and build in opportunities for sleep. We flew in the evening before scheduled activities, because I knew I couldn’t swing it right off the plane. I also napped before we headed out on our flight home, because I knew a really long day followed by a late travel night would be a disaster for me. Now, I am ready for my next trip to be a vacation!

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close